Estadio Nemesio Díez, home of Deportivo Toluca F.C opened on August 18th 1954 which makes the stadium one of the oldest in Mexico. Due to its shape, the 27,000 capacity has been given the nickname of “La Bombonera” and due to the continually upgraded facilities and prime location, Nemesio Diez was chosen to host matches in both Mexican World Cups.
Estadio Nemesio Diez first opened on 18th August 1954 which makes it one of the oldest stadiums in Mexico, and having hosted matches of two World Cups, it is certainly one of the most historic. Commonly known amongst fans as “La Bombonera” like Boca Juniors Stadium due to its resemblance to a chocolate box, it is also referred to as “Casa del Diablo” and “El Infierno” which both reflect Toluca’s fiery red colours.
Selected as one of five venues for the 1970 World Cup, the 30,000 capacity venue shared the distinction along with Estadio Nou Camp of being the smallest ground in the tournament. Nevertheless, the stadium known then as Estadio Luis Dosal hosted group matches and a quarter final between Italy and Mexico.
Renamed to Estadio Nemesio Diez by the time the 1986 World Cup came around, Deportivo Toluca’s stadium hosted three Group B matches in total: Paraguay v Iraq (1-0), Iraq v Belgium (1-2), and Paraquay v Belgium (2-2). Once again Nemesio Diez was the joint smallest ground, and unfortunately it hosted less matches this time round due there being 12 designated venues this time.
Perhaps rather remarkably it wasn’t until Toluca participated in the 2006 Copa Sudamericana and were subject to CONMEBOL’s stadium requirements that floodlights were installed at the stadium. After defeating El Nacional, and San Lorenzo, Toluca made it to the semi finals before being defeated by Colo-Colo in what was certainly a decent cup run for the team.
Estadio Nemesio Díez is comprised of four stands: North, East, South and West.
Click the thumbnails above to enlarge an image of each stand and to read a more detailed description of each part of the stadium.