Stadio Artemio Franchi is a multi-purpose sports venue and main stadium of the city of Siena. Home to the recently bankrupted Football Team, Robur Siena, the ground has a capacity of 15,373 and first opened in 1938.
The Artemio Franchi Stadium is a municipally owned stadium which first opened on the 8th December 1938 with a friendly match between Tuscan rivals, Siena and Empoli. Originally consisting of just a single grandstand, it wasn’t until 1955 that the stadium grew in size with the construction of an additional stand along the lengthways of the pitch.
Upon opening Siena’s ground was initially known as Stadio del Rastrello but eventually became to be named after Italian Football Federation President Artemio Franchi who died in a road accident near the city on 12th August 1983. Born locally in the city of Florence, Artemio Franchi lived in nearby Siena, and in 1991 Fiorentina’s Comunale Stadium was also renamed in his honour.
In 2007 Siena’s main club sponsor, Banca Monte dei Paschi di Siena, purchased the naming rights to the stadium in the second instance of such sponsorship in Italy after Mapei Stadium-City Tricolore in Reggio Emilia. The sponsorship deal which turned the stadium’s official name into Stadio Artemio Franchi – Montepaschi Arena lasted for six years until 2013 when the club went bankrupt and were forced to start again in Serie D.
Whilst Stadio Artemio Franchi is a perfectly serviceable mid-sized football stadium the club had previously explored plans to create a new purpose-built stadium in the Isola d’Arbia area on the outskirts of town. The 20,000 capacity ground won numerous awards for its conceptual design which was largely underground but plans have been indefinitely shelved following the club’s closure and reformation.
Below is a seating plan for Siena’s Artemio Franchi: