Yuexiushan Stadium is a multi-purpose sports venue located in Guangzhou, the third largest city in China. Built in 1950 with an original capacity of 35,000 the ground today is mostly used for football matches of local side Guangzhou R&F F.C.
Yuexiushan Stadium first opened back on October 14th 1950 after the local Guangzhou Municipal Government sought to satisfy the public need for sports and recreational facilities. Constructed in just six months, the original stadium was very spartan, and it wasn’t until six years later in 1956 that large stands were built which were capable of accommodating 28,000 spectators.
Named after the adjacent mountain range, Yuexiushan literally translates as Yuexiu Mountain Stadium, and as a tribute the stands are said to be mirror the incline of the valley. This results in a steep seating arrangement of just under 45 degrees which creates an intimate feel to the stadium, similar to some European football grounds.
On November 7th 1957 tragedy befell Yuexiushan Stadium when 33 people were killed and 57 were injured when a large stampede occurred outside of gate number 5. Revelers were celebrated the 40th anniversary of the Russian Revolution with a theatrical fireworks display, but entry to the stadium was slow which created tension for those queening outside.
The most recent renovations for the stadium occurred in April 2009 when Yuexiu was selected as one of 8 stadiums to host matches of the 2010 Asian Football Games. This saw over 20 million yen invested into improving the quality of the matchday experience for both the footballers and the supporters in attendance.
During the 2012 season Guangzhou R&F were forced to play their AFC Champions League games at Tianhe Stadium after Yuexiushan failed to meet eligibility criteria. Work has since been carried out to bring it up to standard.
Yuexiushan Stadium consists of the following four stands: North, East, South and West.
Click the thumbnails above to enlarge an image of each stand.