Tan Sri Dato Haji Hassan Yunos Stadium

Football Tripper Green Logo

By Football Tripper

Last Updated: September 25, 2020

Internal view of the pitch at Larkin Stadium

Stadium Overview

Team: Johor DT

Address: Larkin, Johor Bahru

Capacity: 30,000

Opened: 1964

Tan Sri Dato Haji Hassan Yunos Stadium or just Larkin Stadium is the home ground of Malaysian Super League side Johor Darul Ta’zim F.C. First opened in 1964, the 30,000 capacity stadium is moderately sized compared to the Bukit Jalil National Stadium.

Stadium Guide


Larkin Stadium first opened in 1964 with a capacity of 15,000 however today’s version of the ground is vastly different to the original after significant renovation work was carried out throughout the 1990s.

The expansion which took place between 1991 and 1999 saw the capacity of the stadium increase to an impressively large 30,000. Remaining as a multi-purpose venue, the athletics track was preserved but adapted to the colours of the Malaysian flag similar to the plastic seating.

Despite hosting the 1992 Sukma Games and the 1997 FIFA Youth World Cup, the most famous match to date held at Larkin Stadium was undoubtedly the Asian-Oceania play-off for a place in the 1998 World Cup.

Used as a neutral venue, Iran took on Japan at Larkin in a thrilling encounter which ended in a 2-2 draw after 90 minutes before Japan scored in the 118th minute of extra time to book their tickets to France.

The stadium has historically been regarded as Larkin by fans however officially it is known as Tan Sri Dato Hj Hassan Yunos Stadium after the former Chief Minister of Malaysia, Hassan Yunos.

Matchday Travel

Football Tripper Image

By Football Tripper

Last Updated: September 25, 2020