Salt Lake Stadium

Football Tripper Green Logo

By Football Tripper

Last Updated: July 19, 2019

Aerial view of India's national stadium

Stadium Overview

Team: Atlético de Kolkata

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal

Capacity: 120,000

Opened: 1984

Salt Lake Stadium or Yuva Bharati Krirangan is the largest stadium in India, and at one time one of the largest sports venues in the world. It has been home to Indian Super League side Atlético de Kolkata since 2014.

Stadium Guide


Salt Lake Stadium was inaugurated in January 1984 with a football tournament known as the Jawaharlal Nehru International Gold Cup. Multi-purpose by design with an athletics track around the perimeter of the pitch, Salt Lake Stadium has however come to be associated more closely with football.

Since opening the stadium has been home to no less than four Indian Football League Teams: East Bengal F.C, Mohammedan S.C, Mohun Bagan A.C, and Prayag United S.C. They were later joined by newly formed Indian Super League side, Atlético de Kolkata in 2014.

Out of the eight venues used for the inaugural Indian Super League Season, Salt Lake Stadium was the only ground to feature an artificial playing surface. Although more durable this prompted debate between the various teams of the league who were concerned about platers safety.

Home to the Indian National Team since the 1980s, in the past the stadium has not always met the international stadium standards. This has however changed ever since FIFA sanctioned a match between Argentina and Venezuela on 2nd September 2011.

India’s largest stadium will be further renovated in the coming years in preparation for the Under 17s World Cup in 2017. Salt Lake Stadium is set to be the centrepiece of the stadium, and will likely hold the opening ceremony and finals.


Matchday Travel

Football Tripper Image

By Football Tripper

Last Updated: July 19, 2019