Estádio Municipal 25 de Abril is a 1930s built stadium located in the small Portuguese municipality of Penafiel which technically falls under the Porto District. Home to F.C. Penafiel since opening in 1934, the ground was remodelled in 2000 and this renovation resulted in the current capacity of 5,103.
Stadium Guide by Football Tripper
Estádio Municipal 25 de Abril dates back to 1930 when construction began on a multi-purpose sports stadium for the local community, with the ground opening four years later on the 21st January 1934. The inaugural match was held between Sport Club of Penafiel and the Sports Union Penafidelense who both folded and were essentially succeeded by today’s F.C Penafiel who formed in 1951.
Thus, F.C Panfiel have only occupied Estádio Municipal 25 de Abril since the 1950s, with the club moving into the local sports stadium in time for the 1951/1952 season when the stadium was known as Campos Das Leiras. In 1974, the stadium was renamed Estádio Municipal 25 de Abril in honour of the Carnation Revolution which saw a military coup overthrown the Estado Novo authoritarian Regime.
The ground currently holds 5,103 spectators after undergoing being largely remodelled at the turn of the millennium in the year 2000 with F.C. Penafiel competing within the second division during the time of the construction. It wouldn’t be until the 2004-2005 season that the newly renovated Estádio Municipal 25 de Abril would host matches of the Portuguese top flight although this only lasted for two seasons as Penafiel succumbed to relegation.
Returning to the Primeira Division for the 2014 season, fans of the the black and reds will be hoping that the club can shake of their label as a perennial lower league team with no further renovations for the stadium currently anticipated. Based within the Penafiel municipality which has a a 2011 population of just 72,265 it’s easy to see why plans to rebuild a completely new stadium in 1999 were discarded in favour of renovations.